A Virtual Field Trip

Standard

I was really excited for today. I spent 2 hours last night checking out our virtual field trip and I could hardly sleep a wink. The boys had no clue what was up, all I told them was that there was a surprise once they completed their assignments for the day. First they finished up day 11 in their workbooks and then moved on to the writing journals. Today’s topic was to write a story with a ninja cat. K was so excited for the surprise that he didn’t get as creative as usual, which was kind of a let down, but I guess we can’t expect an awesome story everyday.
Finally, it was time! I had picked the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History. K had mentioned in an earlier journal how much he wanted to visit the museum. Washington DC is quite a few miles from us, and would require a hotel stay, so it is out for a weekend trip. Since I am I class all summer, we don’t have the time available for a proper family vacation, so I thought this would be the next best thing. It is completely free, no crowds, no snacks to pack, and no worries about where to eat. The perfect trip if you ask me!

If anyone knows of any additional virtual tours, please let me know as I would love to do some more virtual field trips!

Leave a Reply

